To the non-traditional students (we graduated from high school a long time ago)!!

Hey, to all of you that may have graduated from high school back in the eighties.  Well, that would be me too!!  I’m going to start by telling you that I really didn’t want to return to school.  I lost my job (in a factory) in May of 2009 and now that these types of jobs are going by the wayside, I had to do something to get myself back in job market again!!  I’m going to be a Certified Medical Assistant when I’m done (or, when I grow up).  Either way, I’m here to let you know that you are not the only one attending MTC that is forty something.   When you stop learning, you stop living.  Anyhow, I think that we can keep up with the young ones too!!!

One thought on “To the non-traditional students (we graduated from high school a long time ago)!!

  1. Hey fellow non-traditional student blogger! Glad to see someone talking about what we all go through. Slightly different situation for me: I was a stay-at-home mom for 7 years, divorce finalized in March 2009, I had gone back in the job market as a daycare teacher during the divorce but couldn’t support myself and two daughters on my salary/hours. After much angsting over trying to find a better job (more money, benefits — there are just so few jobs out there!) I final decided to ‘go for broke’ and become a college student again! I have a BA already which hasn’t been worth much over the years. At least I got to transfer in all the general classes I needed – english, math, etc. Now I”m studying Occupational Therapy Assisting (consortium student with Rhodes State) and I’m loving it! It’s a challenge working school, driving time, studying, time with the girls, housework, homework for all of us, etc. all around each other but it’s doable. Go non-traditional students! You can do it!

Leave a Reply

