The Goose has got to go!

Now, I don’t know about any of you, but I’m going to put myself  out on a limb and assume that we all have had enough winter weather.  The snow, the cold, and the lack of sunshine in Ohio has really taken its toll on everyone.  I generally don’t look forward to the summer months.  I can do without the heat and humidity.  This year, however, Spring will be a welcome season.  With that in mind, I realize that our dear feathered friends in the campus pond are now going to be returning.  Last week I was trudging through snow and this week……..goose poop.   Anyone who pulls up to the campus for the first time may see our little flock and enjoy the mini eco-system in-between the buildings.  I enjoy the pond area too, but not when I have to tip-toe around it!!   Maybe I could bring my Golden Retriever with me to school.  He would love to “mingle” with the water fowl.  (He already became a BFF with a skunk this week).  I know we can’t do anything about this problem and after discussing the situation with a few of my fellow “tip-toers”,  the only resolution was to bring our hunting husbands with us.   That would definitely NOT go over well.  Anyhow, if anyone has any suggestions, bring them on.  Otherwise, I guess we will have to co-exist with nature and learn to be tolerant.  P.S. I also noticed that there were a few Seagulls out with the geese.  I hope that they don’t bring friends too!!!!!

3 thoughts on “The Goose has got to go!

  1. LOL OH STOP I MUCH RATHER SEE THE CRITTERS AND DEAL WITH THEM, RATHER THAN DEAL WITH SOME OF THE PEOPLE THAT I HAVE SEEN ON THIS CAMPUS. SO I SAY BRING ON THE POOP!!! LOL JUST HAVE IN HAND A POOPER SCOOPER LOL IVE DESIDED TO BRING BREAD AND FEED THEM… :o)

  2. When I was growing up, we had a large pond behind our house. The geese would even lay their eggs right up next to the dock so we couldn’t try to go fishing or swimming without them chasing and hissing at us. And they always seem to poop on wood or sidewalks. I’m not sure why. I guess we will just have to coexist. Be thankful these geese are nicer than the ones I grew up around.

  3. Just today I saw one of the maintenence guys driving what looked to be a mini street sweeper on the sidewalk. At least they’re trying to keep up. Keep your eye on them, they will be nesting and can get aggressive if they feel threatened.

Leave a Reply

