M-A-T-H Melancholy

I have been out of high school for over 15 years and I will admit that I have forgotten some of what I learned in algebra.  When I took the COMPASS test it said that I needed a “brush up” course to improve my math skills.  I have known about this since I started taking classes here over a year ago but I kept telling myself that I will get around to taking this math course…later. 

Well later has come this quarter.  I am very nervous about this class as math was never one my strong subjects.  I never failed math in high school but I don’t think I retained it either.  I went to my first math class yesterday and I left feeling like a genius probably because we were reviewing basic math principles (you know, adding, subtracting, rounding, and estimating).  The class surprised me with how easy it seems to be, but I have been told by some people that it does get harder.  I really hope that it doesn’t because I understand all of the stuff we are doing right now.  I fear that when we start doing all  the harder algebra my brain just won’t retain the information.  Since high school I have stuffed my brain full with other things like husband, child, extended family work , etc.  I don’t know if anyone out there has any ideas on how I get over this roller coaster of feelings I have for M-A-T-H, but any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.  I will keep you posted on my progress with one of two of my math requirements.

2 thoughts on “M-A-T-H Melancholy

  1. Oh my – do I know exactly where you are coming from. I have been attending MTC part time for over 2 years. I took Basic College Math and did just fine. Like yourself, I too have been out of school a long time and I did not take Algebra in high school. My teachers at the time tried to pursuade me to as I got A’s in regular math. I do feel I have a “wall up” when it comes to Algebra as I have not been exposed to it over the years. (I am 25 years out of high school). I initially did well when starting the pre-algebra class, going over the basics, but I got to a point that I was so frusrated with myself that I dropped the course. This really is holding me up in my education and I still need to find a way to overcome the MATH – ALGEBRA ANXIETY. Any suggestions are welcome !!!!

  2. I know exactly where you are. I tried and tried to get out of these math classes with no success. I final just had to bite the bullet and take the class. I have found that I have remembered way more than I had ever thought I would. I still am not a fan in anyway shape or form but I am giving it my best. I am still at the parts where I feel I am just reviewing as we are only about half was through the class now. So I am hoping that this trend holds up. As for advice, the only things I even know that could help are to go easy on yourself this is new for you. The understanding will come as you do more of this. You may also want to try to find someone in your class that really understands all of the different aspects of what is going on and maybe try to meet them in the lab to do your lab hours together, so that when you get stuck someone can help. I say that you can absolutely overcome your fear about this class because if I can, anyone can. Let me know how it goes for you. I am keeping my fingers crossed; I know you can do this.

Leave a Reply

