Spouse, Mother, and Thirty-Something HIT Student Here…

Hello, please allow me to introduce myself.  My name is Natalie Spears.  I guess I am what the college considers a non-traditional student.  I am a 33 year-old married mother of one.  I am a full-time student at Marion Tech and also work here as a part-time student worker.

I am really enjoying most of my classes (math is my real nemesis-ugh!).  I find as a thirty something adult student that I enjoy the online classes the most, as they allow me the flexibility to go to school and still spend time with my family or do my housework.  If online classes had been available back in 1995 when I graduated high school, then maybe I wouldn’t have dropped out of college the first time and maybe…. just maybe…I would already be working in my area of study.  Prior to enrolling here at MTC I tried on many occupations.  I sold tuxedos, I worked at a gas station, I provided daycare, I worked for a private investigator, a billing company, and an attorney.  I just couldn’t figure out what I wanted to be when I grew up.  Now I am actually looking forward to a career in Health Information Technology (HIT).

As a non-traditional student I am working very hard to remember all the things I learned 15 years ago in high school.  As an adult I have found that I do much better when I can control when I do my class work rather than being made to drag myself to a class.  I like that these classes allow me the freedom to work at my own speed.  Yes, there are still deadlines like any other class but I can choose which day and time I am going to work on the assignment prior to the due date.  My online instructors are accessible when I have questions and the discussion boards help me to get to know other students in my area of study.  The online class option is a definite plus in helping me fulfill my healthcare career goals.

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

