It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year!

Yes, as of Thursday, September 2nd, 2010 at 8 p.m., it WILL be the most wonderful time of the year.  For those of you who have no clue what I am talking about, it’s called OHIO STATE FOOTBALL!   You know O-H-I-O, Sloopy, Script Ohio, Skull Sessions, and last but not least…Brutus…plus all of the other great traditions of football at the Horse Shoe.  I love this time of year and always have since I was a little kid growing up in Beavercreek, Ohio.  I can remember my dad and his really good friend going to the Saturday afternoon games while the  “wives” (my mom included) would stay home with the kids.  My dad never did offer to take me to an Ohio State football game.  He always said that going to a game was meant for grown-ups to appreciate.  I didn’t understand what he was talking about until I went to my first game at Ohio Stadium.  It was over 22 years ago when my husband and I were still dating that we attended an Ohio State vs. Illinois game.  My brother, a student at OSU,  got us tickets in the upper deck (now there’s one even higher!) from one of his buddies who was going home for the weekend.  At that time you didn’t need a student I.D. and all that stuff.  You just went and sat in the student section, and yes, we enjoyed a few adult beverages and had fun.  I can still remember seeing the band come onto the field from the north end of the stadium and the roar of the crowd was unbelieveable.  I told my husband that when we had kids, they would go to Ohio State, no other option would be given.  Now, 21 years later, we have a son who is a junior at The Ohio State University.  He doesn’t seem to get as excited about football as his mom but, that’s OK, he can get me tickets!!  I mean, what is that college education worth if ya can’t get tickets to OSU football?  Anyway, enjoy the game Thursday night and……..GO BUCKS!!

Leave a Reply

