Help! I’m losing my balance…

This quarter I am taking 16 credit hours of classes (I need to do this to graduate spring 2011) and I find that with working and caring for my family that I am just spent.  My normal daily routine is get up, get ready, get the kid ready, go to work, come home, work around the house, cook dinner, help my daughter with her homework and then get her ready for bed. Then and only then is it time for my homework and 15 minutes of me time before bed.  I feel as though I am running a marathon and not going anywhere.  I don’t know about you but I am exhausted at the end of the day.

I am in dire need of some advice as to how to balance all of the things I have going and still have time to keep my sanity.  If anyone out there in MTC world has any ideas or suggestions of what I can do to achieve some sort of balance in my crazy like,  please reply and fast!  If anyone else feels like this maybe we can try some of these suggestions together and we can all feel a little better.

4 thoughts on “Help! I’m losing my balance…

  1. Been there, done that. I don’t have kids but I live with and care for my elderly parents. I took 16 hours last winter and thought I’d never make it. REMEMBER always that it is only temporary, and remember your sacrifice will be worth it. Enlist some help. Let your husband help with the kids’ homework and help around the house. If you don’t have one, enlist a family member or friend, or hire a teenager to help. Don’t be proud! No one ever died saying they wish they had done more housework. NO ONE can do it all. REMEMBER, it will be over in December and you’ll get a long well deserved break. Imagine how proud you can be of yourself for pulling this off. Hang in. It is tough but can be done. Good luck!

  2. Hello there- not to late to drop some classes. Full time is only twelve credit hours, and it seems as though there is plenty on your plate to begin with. I think that you can better reach your full potential when you are not stressed out. Try taking a nice relaxing bath before bed. With any luck you’ll fall asleep right there in the tub! Invest in an ipod or headphones to tune out surrounding distractions. Talk to your hubby about how you two can work together in this transition. Buy some aromatherapy candles– meditate. In short, spend some time thinking about your happiness and over all well- being. When you feel better, you’ll perform better>>>> MAKE THE TIME, FOR YOU TIME.

  3. Hang in there and know you aren’t alone! Focus on one assignment at a time. The best advice I ever got was from my mother who says: “you earn the same degree with all C’s as with A’s.” So don’t kill yourself striving for total perfection. Good luck, your goal is in reach!

  4. I know what you’re going through right now,… by the end of the day or infront of your husband, you just take a deep breath and look at him and want to cry from exhaustion. It’s a scary time right now to go through all of that. It’s an enormous amt of stress to take on. A family, work, and a full time student will make any person upset. If your goal is to graduate by 2011, go for it. Just realize, it’ll probally be like this for two years. Know what you’re able to take on; know your limits, if taken on this quarter is too hard right now, take a step back and think if you’re able to do it till 2011. Some people say just sacrifice now, and it’ll be worth it in the end,… but honestly, you only have the time now, dont miss out on life. I’m taking care of a baby,… my family helps out, and ya no what, I miss her dearly. From rushing to work at 5 in the morning, to rushing to be home at 9 at night 5 days a week. I dont want to miss out on the people who support me right now. I’ve done the same thing over and over again. This is my 4th quarter of doing it. Classes are getting harder and work is preventing me from not passing some of my classes. I need to change the pace because depression and exhaustion is getting the better of me; no me time, or family time. Just take a step back and see what you can handle. Don’t get exhausted along the journey just to make it to the end. Dont wanna lose your interest when you’re finally there.
    See what you can handle.

Leave a Reply

