Droid!

So, when I see this word, I can’t help but of course say “Droid” in my head the way you hear on commercials, phones, and from others mouths.  While shopping for a phone, I was in the store and a commercial came on with the Motorola “Droid” noise.  A kid stopped in his tracks, smiled and repeated the sound.

I recently became a Droid user and have to say two things, I have never felt so old and I have never been so impressed by technology.

It has taken me over a month to get used to this phone, and I’m still discovering new tricks to it.  I was actually nervous about trying to figure out how to make a phone call!  I previously worked for a cell phone company and am only 25 years old, but I lack confidence when it comes to this phone!

On the flip side, I have downloaded some pretty cool apps!  I can actually blog to wordpress from my phone.  I have yet to do this for fear of the pain it would cause my thumbs and wrist, but I am still impressed.  I can upload a video from my phone to youtube, I can take HD videos (DroidX) and use my favorite obsession, Facebook.  Recently my laptop was stolen and I discovered I can also log in and check my MTC email as well as do my homework on my phone.  I literally feel as though I have a miniature computer in my purse while I walk around!  I was previously a Blackberry user (Storm) and though there is much that can be done on a Blackberry, the Droid blows my mind.

Now, I didn’t just write all of this to give a review of my phone.  Rather, I am thinking of those out there who are still searching for the right career, for the right path in life.  I have been there!  It’s so frustrating, no matter what age you are or where you are in your life, if you haven’t found your calling, it can be very disheartening.  Why not look for something in technology?  And I don’t just suggest this because I go to a technical school that could help get you on this path, but because that’s where the future of our country and our world is headed.  I’m sure most people realize that, but have you considered a degree in a field that would help you advance in the technical world?  If you’re like me, I was one of the millions of Americans who lost their job in a bad economy.  I started back to school and feel confident everyday I made the right decision.  There’s help out there financially, counselors who are willing to show you the right scholarships, grants, and loans to apply for.  A lot of places have started catering to the student who needs later classes.  Most schools also offer a tutoring type program if you need additional help on your work.  There’s not much you can do for excuses anymore!

Leave a Reply

