Reflections of a Student Ambassador

My name is Erin Dixon. I am a Student Ambassador here at Marion Technical College. Although most may not know exactly what it is I do, or what this program is all about, it’s been one of the most rewarding parts of my college experience.  I started college thinking that I would just attend my classes and get through my program as fast as I could. In high school, I was involved in every club you could think of. I was student government president, class officer and always busy. With that being said, my idea of college was to take it easy. Take some time for me to be me. I didn’t want to always be running around and doing something without even having time to breathe.  I thought it would be a time more for academics than fun and games, very adult -like of me right? J Well, I came to realize I needed more than the class and homework routine.

My first year of college was pretty normal, class and excess amounts of homework. I never really felt like I made a huge connection with any other people in my classes and never felt like I truly wanted to be here. Sure, I talked to a few people here and there, but  I knew if I was going to survive the next three years, I needed to do something fast.  Not long after that moment, I saw a flyer advertising the Student Ambassador program at MTC. I wasn’t really sure what it was all about, but hey, there was a scholarship attached to it! The only thing I knew about the program was that it was a chance to be a part of a team that helps around the college.  Your help would range from tours, letters and postcards to helping give future students your input or experiences.

Being an ambassador has been awesome for me. I have given eighth grade tours, helped with open admissions, given some advice and even put together a few packets here and there. That has no comparison to the people I have met and the connections I have made. I feel so comfortable here on campus. I know who to go talk to with a problem and have some of the best friendships I could have ever asked for.  The ambassador program has given me the resources to be an active part of this college and I encourage everyone to become a part. It s given me the extra drive I need while being here to complete my degree and move on within my career choice. It’s the chance to be an active member of your education!

Leave a Reply

