The good ole summer time!

As summer break draws closer to its end I would like to pose a couple of questions to you.  What is the one thing you miss most from your summer breaks as a child and what is one the one thing that you did on summer break as a child that you want your child to experience?

These two questions were posed to me by someone today and as I reflected on it I realized that there were so many things that I miss and believe my daughter might be missing out on as well.  I miss simple things like lying on the floor in front of the fan with my sisters, because in the 80’s air conditioning was a luxury item at least in my neighborhood.  I miss riding my bike all day and playing at a bridge on an old dirt road close to the old brick farmhouse.  I think times were definitely simpler then as well; we didn’t have the option of watching television or playing on the computer or game systems all day long.  I remember getting out of bed before 9:00 am in the morning grabbing breakfast and heading outside and then, with the exception of eating meals, we were outside until after dark.

I don’t remember getting eaten up with mosquito bites or complaining about the heat like my child does now.  I honestly don’t remember spending much time inside my house.  As a parent I want my child to like taking bike rides and catching lightning bugs. To have memories  when she is older of going fishing with her dad, playing in the rain, and coming in from playing with feet so dirty she would have to wash them off before she could set foot on the living room floor.

So how do we make sure our children actually experience what it was like to do the things that we loved as children?  How do we show them that jumping in mud puddles is more fun than playing video games or playing on the computer?  We can’t lock them outside and force them to experience the outdoors and all the fun it holds!  So do we just allow them to shun summer with its deadly mosquitoes and the ultraviolet rays of the good ole sun?

So what are your childhood memories of summer?  If you have any suggestions as to how to get our kids in love with the outdoors let me know?  Hope the rest of your summer is terrific.

Leave a Reply

