Obstacles to Success

By MTC Student Ambassador, T.

Fall quarter has started, and this year is off to a challenging start.  Sometimes factors outside of school can affect your ability to concentrate.  I’m facing that obstacle right now.  After a smooth first year at MTC, it seems this year is off to a bumpy start.  Family illnesses, personal problems, and even something so simple (yet vital), as internet connectivity can try your nerves and patience.  It seems I’ve conquered all the hurdles for now, and hopefully life will begin to flow smoothly again.

The most important lesson I’ve learned from all my recent challenges is to get up each morning and keep going.  Do what you have to do, and don’t lose sight of what’s really important in the long term.  Sometimes we plan our lives year to year, sometimes month to month, and sometimes we can only plan one day at a time.  I recently lost two close family members within a week, and a line from a song we played at my mom’s funeral last month keeps coming back to me:  “The real troubles in your life are apt to be things that never crossed your worried mind: the kind that blindside you at 4pm on some idle Tuesday.”  Very true words, I never could have imagined life could throw so much at me at once, and despite it all, I’m still standing!

Leave a Reply

