Scary Movies

Seeking things that bump in the night…on film that is!

Autumn is my favorite season.  I love the vibrant colors of the trees, the crisp air and of course Halloween.  I have a young child in my house and that means trick-or-treating.  Which means it is time for bubble gum, lollypops, chocolate and all things spooky or creepy crawly.  I love taking my daughter trick-or- treating and seeing all of the children dressed up in their costumes.  I also enjoy going to haunted houses, graveyards, and prisons.  Halloween is just a fun time for everyone in my family.  As usual we have already decorated the yard and house with all creepy and crawly wonders of the holiday.

This year we started a new tradition at our house.  My daughter at the ripe old age of 9 has become a scary movie addict.  For years now she has watched Ghost Hunters and Paranormal State with me along with anything else that involves ghosts or the paranormal so I guess this is the natural progression of things.  She has decided that she is old enough to handle being scared.  So I have given in and on Friday and Saturday evenings we are having a scary movie night complete with popcorn.  So far we have watched:  Pumpkin Head, The Grudge, The Others, Bram Stokers Dracula and The Sixth Sense.  They are scary but not the blood and guts slasher movies and for my daughter they are still plenty frightful.  I am slowly but surely running out of movies that I can show her as many of the scary movies have way too much nudity and foul language for a nine year old.  I am looking for some age appropriate suggestions as to other movies that will give her a good jump but will not be too advanced for her.  I have thought of some of Stephen King’s movies, like The Shining or Cujo but after this I am lost.  So scary movie buffs, any suggestions?

5 thoughts on “Scary Movies

Leave a Reply

