Christmas Memories

I love the whole holiday, the religious meanings, the time spent with family and friends and of course the food and gift giving.  I also love the memories of Christmas past.  My favorites are memories that included Santa Claus, grandparents, aunts and uncles who are no longer here to celebrate with us.

What I remember most as a child is sitting on Santa’s lap letting him know what the one thing was that my heart desired the most for Christmas.  I remember lying to him about being good because I often was not and praying the whole time that he didn’t find out about me and my little fib.  I remember the excitement of waking up Christmas morning and running down stairs to see if he indeed had showed up and if I had fooled him yet again this year.

Now that I am a mother, I love hearing my daughter talk to Santa about what she wants for Christmas and how wonderful she has been, the whole time knowing that her room is a disaster and that she in trouble daily for back talking.  But I hold my tongue and with all the joy in my heart I watch my daughters eyes sparkle at the thought of Santa’s impending arrival.  Seeing my child experience Christmas makes my heart sing. There are only few things that I enjoy more than this.

This year I find myself lacking in the Christmas spirit department.  I find myself remembering people who are gone and how I would love to see them again, if only just for Christmas Day.  As they are ever a part of my Christmas memories, the holiday just doesn’t seem right without them being here.  I don’t want this to put a damper on my child’s Christmas as her memories are just forming.  So this year I think I am going to add some of our family history to our Christmas tree.  I think I am going to find pictures of the people we love and somehow make ornaments with their pictures on them for our tree.  I think we are going to put pictures of those who are with us and those who are not.  I want my daughter to feel how the love of her family envelopes her on Christmas no matter if they are celebrating Christmas with us here on Earth or watching our celebrations from heaven.

My question to you is how do you bring the memories of your loved ones into your Christmas celebration and still keep it a happy event?

Leave a Reply

