Goal Achieved: Call Me A Phlebotomist (well, almost)

By Natalie S.

I did it! I did it! The definition of a Phlebotomist is one who practices phlebotomy, one who draws blood for analysis or transfusion. So after 120 hours and over 400 sticks I guess I am now a true phlebotomist. I have enjoyed each and every draw that my patients so graciously allowed me to perform on them. I really loved the interaction with the patients and the staff of the laboratory at my clinical site. I was privileged to see patients in every stage of their lives, from babies to patients in their 90’s. I have seen patients that were terrible ill and patients that were just having routine test run. What I have learned from this is that people of all ages have a fear of needles. I have seen how important it is to put them as ease and get the blood tests done as quickly and pain-free as possible. More importantly, I have seen how incredibly kind and trusting people can be, the mere fact that this wonderful patient was willing to let me draw their blood knowing I was only a student was an incredible rush. It may be hard to believe but the patients were just as encouraging as the staff at the hospital that I was placed at. I feel more than adequately prepared for a job as Phlebotomist. I know I have the ability and confidence to secure a job in the phlebotomy field. My next step in this process is sitting for and successfully passing my ASCP test to become a certified phlebotomist. I am looking forward to this too as this will truly be the end of this educational journey I have been on. Once I hold that piece of paper that says that I am a certified phlebotomist nothing will be able to keep me from smiling like a child and saying I did it! I did it!

Leave a Reply

