Why I went to college

By MTC Student Ambassador, EM

When I graduated high school, I started college unsure of what I really wanted to major in.  I put no effort into what I was doing and eventually stopped going.  Instead, I got a job and worked in sales full-time.  I enjoyed what I was doing, the money was great and I seemed to be a natural at sales.  Eventually I was promoted and was a manager or my own store.   The numbers for my store were phenomenal, I had increased sales from 30% the first month I was there to 90% the second month!  Everything seemed to be going well and I felt like I had my life together, I was only 23 years old and life was great!

However, within months, the company I was working for decided to close all of their stores in the region I was in.  My only options were to either leave the company with a severance package or to move to Texas to continue in the direction I was going.  There were options available in my area, but only for people with a college degree, one I didn’t have.

I decided it was time to buckle down and go back to college.  The process has been difficult, anyone who tells you college is easy is lying.  College is for the strong, making the experience all the more rewarding.  Money is tight, my schedule feels bogged down, sometimes I feel like I have no social life.  However, I will be graduating with my first degree next quarter!  No one can tell me this wasn’t all worth it.  I already have a deep sense of pride when I tell people I will be graduating next quarter, no one can take my education away from me.

Though school is difficult, there are many opportunities for help.  My financial aid and admissions office has been fantastic.  I am not afraid to talk to my advisor because I want to make sure I am using my time to my advantage.  Marion Technical College also offers a free tutoring service that has been invaluable to me as both a student and a tutor.  The staff at this college and other schools are where they are to help students succeed, but they don’t know we need help unless we ask.

When preparing for school, the first thing I purchased was a calendar.  I personally keep one in my purse but as long as you have one in a location you will see every day you will be fine.  Time management is key when it comes to school, especially if you have a family and/or a job.  Making sure you set aside time for homework, knowing your class and work schedules, and keeping your personal time is precious.  I cannot emphasize this enough!

If you are considering going to college, do it.  If you have questions, ask them.  If you have concerns, voice them.  You will never look back and say you regret obtaining a degree.

Photo courtesy of: http://www.pffirewall.com

One thought on “Why I went to college

  1. “Why I went to college |” Faux Wood Blinds ended up being a superb blog post and
    therefore I was indeed truly content to find the blog post.
    Thanks,Gene

Leave a comment