A Good First Impression – That’s Why I Chose Marion Technical College

MelissaHammond
Melissa Hammond, Marion Technical College Physical Therapy Assistant Student Class of 2015

Why I Chose MTC
written by Melissa Hammond, Physical Therapy Assistant Program

I always knew I wanted to go to college, but I was never sure where.  My senior year of high school my guidance counselor at Pioneer Career and Technology Center mentioned Marion Technical College (MTC) to me. I had no clue where Marion Ohio even was, but I decide to check it out anyway.  I already knew they had a physical therapist assistant program, but I didn’t know anything else when I called to make an appointment with an admissions counselor. When I called I was pleasantly surprised by how caring everyone was, I automatically was very eager to come and check out the campus. My parents and I drove an hour to Marion to meet with Susan Konves. She made us feel right at home and went over everything with us! I got to see the campus at night and it was beautiful then, so I knew it would be amazing during the day. I knew right then and there that Marion Technical College was for me.

Library Building at night on the Marion Campus
Marion Technical College at night

First impressions mean a lot to me and Marion Technical College had an amazing first impression on me and it only got better from there. I then scheduled a meeting with the Program Director for the physical therapist program, Susan Cotterman. My first impression of Susan was amazing she spelled everything out for me and helped me through everything. I emailed and called Susan anytime I had a question and she always got back to me in a very timely fashion. I attended their open house to meet some of the current students and get a better feel for the program. The students who were there were amazing, they answered all of my questions and really gave some insight on how the actual program ran. Needless to say I could not wait to graduate high school and attend Marion Technical College!

The number one reason I picked Marion Technical College is the people. All of the staff are very caring, organized, and will help you anyway they can. The second reason I picked MTC is the campus. I LOVE the look of the campus and the atmosphere around campus. Not to mention how close it is to all the restaurants, I actually walk to Panera Bread from campus! The third reason I picked MTC is the physical therapist assistant program is top notch! I knew this was the field I wanted to get into, but MTC’s program is just amazing.

These are the reasons I picked MTC, but I didn’t realize how life changing this decision was. I am now in my second year of the physical therapist assistant program and going to graduate in May 2015! I have grown as a person in so many ways. I am now a student ambassador for Marion Technical College, treasure for The National Society of Leadership and Success, and vice president of my class. I never would have imagined growing into the person I am today and for that I have to thank Marion Technical College.  If I had never picked MTC in the first place, it couldn’t have helped me grow into this amazing person I am today.

Leave a Reply

